Ivy Tech Community College Foundation Announces Board Leadership

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – The Ivy Tech Foundation has nominated four members to board leadership. Board leadership will now include Constance Brown as Chair, Roland Shelton as Vice Chair, Patrick Ralston as Treasurer and Lauren Salerno as Secretary.

Constance D. Brown is a CPA who began her career with Ernst & Young specializing in healthcare. She spent 25 years in healthcare and health insurance with more than 20 years as the CFO of M Plan, Inc., Indiana University Health Plans, Inc. and related companies. She currently serves on the board of Ivy Tech Community College Foundation, Marquette Retirement Living Community (Finance Comm Chairman) and Conner Prairie. She has been a past member/ officer of the Boards of Directors of the International School of Indiana, Easter Seals Crossroads Rehabilitation, Inc., Special Olympics and Girls Incorporated.

Roland Shelton has more than 30 years of expertise in executive leadership roles. Mr. Shelton was promoted to Executive Vice President, Chief Strategic Business Partnership Officer in 2020 at Old National Bank. Prior to this, he served as Executive Business Development Officer. Prior to joining Old National Bank in 2017, Mr. Shelton served as Senior Vice President of Constituent Relations at Indiana State University. Mr. Shelton also worked at Park University as the Associate Vice President for Advancement and was a Business Manager at General Motors. He serves on the Ivy Tech Foundation Board of Directors, Mid-State Minority Development Council, Kentucky Wesleyan College Board of Trustees, Indiana State Museum and Historic Sites, Regional Federal Prison Board, and the Hamilton Center Board of Directors.

Patrick Ralston served as Vice President of First Financial Bank for 17 years and as a state agency head under three Indiana governors – Evan Bayh, Frank O’Bannon and Joe Kernan.  He served 3 years in the US Army of that one year in Vietnam. Prior, he also worked at the Great Lakes Commission as Chairman, Indiana Natural Resources Foundation, and Indiana Heritage Trust. He was appointed by Congress to serve on the Gilmore Commission to assess the United States ability to respond to weapons of mass destruction in 1999.  He currently serves on the Terre Haute Regional Hospital Board of Directors, Gibault Children Service Board of Directors, and Small Business Advisory Council at Indiana State University.

Lauren Salerno is an attorney with over 20 years’ experience in the technology industry. Her position as Director of Product Management spans a variety of software companies across the country, including Lexis-Nexis, Thomson Reuters and Ontario Systems. Ms. Salerno focused her skills as a leader in marketing, finance, project management and a number of other cross-functional areas. Ms. Salerno’s experience has allowed her to successfully contribute to her passion for philanthropy. She served on many Foundation Boards and committees focusing on education and healthcare, such as Christamore House Guild, Brebeuf Jesuit Preparatory School Board, Eskenazi Health Strategic Planning Committee and St. Vincent Foundation Board. Ms. Salerno currently serves on the Ivy Tech Foundation Board as Chair of the Governance Committee and member of the Executive Committee as well as Chair of the Circle of Ivy – Women in Philanthropy.

“We are honored to have this team’s leadership, vast array of professional experiences, and true passion for Ivy Tech taking our board and Foundation to the next level of success,” said Constance Brown, board chair of the Ivy Tech Foundation.  “I would also like to thank our outgoing board members, Terry Bowen, David Findlay, Michael Lunsford, Lee Marchant, Phil Roby and Rich VonDerHaar, for their dedication and service to the board.”

The following individuals were appointed to the Ivy Tech Foundation Board:

  • Brian Stater, Hamilton County, vice president of business development, Bowen Engineering
  • Brian Statz, Indianapolis, director, LewisKappes
  • Seema Verma, Indianapolis, managing director, SAMNI Advisors, LLC

For a complete list of Ivy Tech Foundation Board members, visit: giving.ivytech.edu/board

About Ivy Tech Community College
Ivy Tech Community College is Indiana’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system, accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana and also serves thousands of students annually online. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering associate degree and short-term certificate programs, and trainings that align to the needs of the community. The College also offers courses and associate degree programs that seamlessly transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana, as well as out of state, for a more affordable route to a Bachelor’s degree.

About the Ivy Tech Foundation
The Foundation’s most important function is to provide support for Ivy Tech Community College beyond state appropriations and student fees. Its overall program of work focuses on meeting student needs. The Foundation’s work is made possible by donations from friends of Ivy Tech. The Foundation distributes these donations as designated by the donor to support students and the College’s strategic initiatives.