Ivy Tech Community College Leaders Appointed to National Commission

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Nine Ivy Tech Community College leaders have been appointed to serve on five American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) Commissions.

  • David Bathe, chancellor, Lafayette campus – Small and Rural Colleges
  • Travis Haire, chancellor, Sellersburg campus – College Readiness
  • Alex Huskey, chancellor, Marion campus – College Readiness
  • Rebecca Rahschulte, vice president of K-14 Initiatives and Statewide Partnerships – College Readiness
  • Lori Handy, vice chancellor, Indianapolis campus – Institutional Infrastructure and Transformation
  • Rod Brown, vice chancellor for Academic Affairs, Indianapolis Campus – Structured Pathways
  • Dean McCurdy, chancellor, Kokomo campus – Structured Pathways
  • Countance Anderson, vice chancellor for Student Success, Valparaiso campus – Student Success
  • John Cowles, vice chancellor for Student Success, Indianapolis campus – Student Success

There are nine commissions authorized by the AACC Board. Each commission consists of an average of 24 people from member institutions who are CEOs or administrators.

The Commission on Small and Rural Colleges will offer the association advice and council on trends and issues impacting these institutions. They will highlight innovative practices in small and rural colleges and can serve as models for other institutions. They will also make suggestions to the association on ways that it may address the needs of the segment of this sector.

The Commission on College Readiness will provide recommendations for consideration to AACC and AASA leadership in the design and execution of the two associations’ joint meetings. They will help identify promising practices and colleges and K-12 districts that have innovative solutions to advance college-going rates. They will also volunteer as needed to assist in designing innovative programming for superintendents and college presidents to foster more effective and efficient relationships between the two associations.

The Commission on Institutional Infrastructure and Transformation will be charged with focusing on the transformation of the institution to improve student success, which includes administrative processes, infrastructure, technology and building human resource capacity.

The Commission on Structured Pathways will focus on strategies for scaling community college pathways across systems, states, and the nation. They will contribute to the development of the AACC Pathways resources and related work through identification of pertinent resources, technical assistance expertise, and college examples, as well as through review of emerging evidence on the efficacy of pathways.

The Commission on Student Success will focus on student access and success, and organizational transformation. They may examine subject areas, including but not limited to the following: degree completion and two-year to four-year transfer. In addition, the commission may focus on initiatives that facilitate the implementation of the 21st-Century Initiative and Implementation Guidelines; showcase cutting-edge innovation with proven outcomes and improve student success; and provide affordable, high-quality technical assistance in areas that support student success.

About Ivy Tech Community College
Ivy Tech Community College serves communities across Indiana, providing world-class education and driving economic transformation. It is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering high-value degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its communities, along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s