President’s Award honors 18 Ivy Tech Community College faculty members

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. – Ivy Tech Community College has honored a select group of faculty for exemplary work with students and their communities.

The 18 winners of Ivy Tech’s annual President’s Awards, the highest honor given to faculty by Ivy Tech, have been recognized across the state. The recipients were selected based on nominations from students, their fellow faculty members, and Ivy Tech staff. Now in its 40th year, the program recognizes one full-time faculty member at each campus for reflecting Ivy Tech’s mission. The winners receive a $1,000 grant for instructional supplies and materials.

Dr. Sue Ellspermann, president of Ivy Tech, says the President’s Awards reflect both the college’s commitment to the college’s faculty and the unique qualities that make Ivy Tech special.

“Our faculty members are intently focused on student success,” Ellspermann said. “They are pivotal to Ivy Tech’s role in preparing students for successful careers and encouraging them to be fully engaged in their communities. On behalf of everyone at Ivy Tech, we congratulate them for receiving this honor and applaud them for inspiring their colleagues across the state, our staff, and our students through their example.”

The 2020 Ivy Tech Community College President’s Award honorees from each campus are:

Anderson: Stacey Alspaugh- Assistant Professor of Dental Hygiene Clinical Coordinator. My teaching philosophy revolves around effective teaching as an intricate process that includes implementing teaching methods to maximize student learning. 

Bloomington: Joshua Farrington – Assistant Professor of Philosophy. My teaching philosophy revolves around “Farrington’s 5 F’s of Student Flourishing: Freedom, Friendliness, Flexibility, Follow-Up, and Follow-through.” 

Columbus: Cyrus Screwvala – Instructor, Mathematics, and Physics. My teaching philosophy is to give all of my students every opportunity to succeed, and I encourage them to persevere in the class as much as possible. 

Evansville: Barbara Rendleman – Associate Professor, School of Arts, Sciences, and Education. My teaching philosophy revolves around the non-traditional philosophy “The Poinsettia Method.”

Fort Wayne: Michelle Hagan-Short – Professor/Dept. Chair Business Operations, Applications, and Technology Program & Supply Chain Management Program. My teaching philosophy focuses on establishing a learner-centered environment that values mutual respect, lifelong learning, and learner success.

Indianapolis: Stephanie Egler – Assistant Professor for School of Nursing. My teaching philosophy to enhance teaching skills and have a positive impact on students’ growth and success is through professional development and continuing education.

Kokomo: Allison Toren – Dept. Chair, Communication, General Studies, and Student Success; Assistant Professor of Communication. My teaching philosophy revolves around my desire to have students understand and use the material; my classroom experiences are often filled with hands-on, role-playing, or small group activities and discussions.

Lafayette: Kelley Butler – Program Chair and Associate Professor, Accounting Program. My teaching philosophy comes from getting to know my students early in the semester.

Lake County: Douglas Lalama – Assistant Professor of Psychology. My teaching philosophy has been developed by examining what I enjoyed about education. I always liked teachers that could relate the subject matter to real life.

Lawrenceburg: Becky Pohle – Professor/Program Chair Mathematics. My teaching philosophy is recognizing every student is unique and important.

Madison: Theresa Kapfhammer – Associate Professor, School of Nursing. My teaching philosophy revolves around having a positive impact on students.

Marion: Jessica Mankey – Associate Professor of Communication. My teaching philosophy centralizes around the idea that education is foundational to understanding, reflecting on, and acting with agency in the world. 

Muncie: Olufunmilola Olorunda – Associate Professor/Dept. Chair School of Information Technology. My teaching philosophy as an instructor is to adopt appropriate teaching and learning techniques to increase students’ understanding in an immersive, collaborative, and engaging environment. 

Richmond: Holly Lemar – Assistant Professor of Nursing. My teaching philosophy centers around innovation and resourcefulness in the classroom. 

Sellersburg: David Bennett – Professor Liberal Arts. My teaching philosophy was developed by a teaching approach based on the dedication committed priority to engage students. 

South Bend/Elkhart: George Twaddle- Program Chair Biology and Biotechnology; SASE Science Department Chair. My teaching philosophy understands Education is a learning process where instructors guide students in the acquisition of competencies in both knowledge and skill. 

Terre Haute: Krissie Pickering – Associate Professor/ Dept. Chair of Early Childhood Education. My teaching philosophy is influenced by my theory of learning. My theory of learning is closely tied to my training as an early childhood special educator. 

Valparaiso: Traci Bryan – Associate Professor, English, Tutoring Coordinator, Department Chair, Student Success. 

My teaching philosophy is knowing that teaching is not a job but a calling. 

Along with being recognized with the President’s Award, each of the 18 winners is eligible for the Glenn W. Sample Award Founder’s Award for Excellence in Instruction, which is presented to the outstanding Ivy Tech faculty member throughout the state. The Founder’s Award recipient announced at the June 23 Virtual Ceremony – Bloomington Campus Joshua Farrington.

For more information about the President’s Awards, visit

About Ivy Tech Community College

Ivy Tech Community College serves communities across Indiana, providing world-class education and driving economic transformation. It is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering high-value degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its communities, along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s