Scott Caldwell receives Ivy Tech Community College Glenn W. Sample Founder’s Award for Excellence in Instruction

founders-award-2018Ivy Tech Community College has awarded its Glenn w. Sample Founder’s Award for Excellence in Instruction to Scott Caldwell, program chair and assistant professor, Richmond campus. The Glenn W. Sample Founder’s Award recognizes an individual who exemplifies the mission of Ivy Tech. This tradition began in 1983 and is the College’s highest honor.

Each year, the Glenn W. Sample Founder’s Award winner is announced at the annual President’s Awards for Excellence in Instruction. This event recognizes a member of each of Ivy Tech’s 19 campuses, honoring them for their commitment to their profession and Ivy Tech.

“Ensuring the success of our students is Ivy Tech’s top priority. I am extremely honored and proud to work with these remarkable faculty members who set an example for their peers to make a difference in the lives of Hoosiers,” said President of Ivy Tech, Dr. Sue Ellspermann. “Scott, as well as each of the President’s Award recipients, inspires each of us to work harder each and every day.”

The recipients of the 2018 President’s Awards include:

  • Anderson – Jane Ellen Hall, Assistant Professor (Business)
  • Bloomington – Stacy Strand, Assistant Professor (Hospitality)
  • Columbus – Richard Lamborn, Assistant Department Chair (Behavioral Sciences), Associate Professor (Psychology)
  • Evansville – Andrea Jefferson, Assistant Professor (Liberal Arts, Sciences and Education)
  • Fort Wayne – Anthony Ramey, Assistant Professor (Business Administration)
  • Indianapolis – Claire Maxson, Student Success Faculty, Foundations of Success Department Chair
  • Kokomo – Laura Lanning, Department Chair (Public Affairs and Social Services), Program Chair and Associate Professor (Human Services)
  • Lafayette – Andrew Irrgang, Assistant Professor (Physical Sciences)
  • Lake County – Daniel Mallon, Assistant Professor (Human Services)
  • Lawrenceburg – Leighann Rechtin, Program Chair (Communication), Associate Professor (English and General Studies)
  • Madison – Annabet Garner, Program Chair (Healthcare Specialist and Medical Assisting)
  • Marion – Thomas Chester, Department Chair (Arts, Sciences and Education)
  • Michigan City – Paul Oman, Assistant Professor and Program Chair (Mathematics)
  • Muncie – Autumn McNichols, Associate Professor (Arts, Sciences and Education)
  • Richmond – Scott Caldwell, Program Chair and Assistant Professor (Agriculture)
  • Sellersburg – Larry Hartog, Assistant Professor (Business)
  • South Bend/Elkhart – Brent Spring, Program Chair (Hospitality Administration)
  • Terre Haute – Carrie McCammon, Associate Professor and Program Chair (Mathematics)
  • Valparaiso – Donald Spears, Associate Professor and Department Chair (Human Services)

Also at the event, the College recognized Provost and Senior Vice President Steven Tincher for his more than 37 years of service at Ivy Tech. Tincher will retire from the College on June 30. Dr. Kara Monroe will assume the role on July 1.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s