Ivy Tech Community College students named to Phi Theta Kappa All-Indiana Academic Team

Forty-two Ivy Tech Community College students were named to this year’s Phi Theta Kappa All-Indiana Community College Academic team during the All-Indiana Academic Team Luncheon, located in Bloomington, Ind. These recognitions are given to high achieving community college students who demonstrate academic excellence and intellectual rigor, combined with leadership and service both in and outside of the classroom. They are categorized by transfer or workforce pathways.


Of these 42 Ivy Tech students, two were named as New Century Scholars. New Century Scholars are also categorized through the transfer or workforce pathways and scholarships are awarded.

The workforce pathway scholarship recognizes the achievements of career-bound/workforce-ready students and provides scholarships to complete their associate degrees, obtain necessary certifications and purchase tools or other trade-specific items needed to enter the workforce. The transfer pathway scholarship recognizes the achievements of students planning to transfer to a four-year university.

Gulab Parab of Bloomington was the New Century Transfer Scholar and was awarded $2,250. He will be given the chance to attend the President’s Breakfast at the American Association of Community College (AACC) conference held in Dallas in April. During this event, he will be honored with a medallion and certificate.

Rachel Dutoi of South Bend was named the New Century Workforce Scholar and received a $1,250 scholarship. She will be invited to attend the Association of Community College Trustees Congress in October to receive a medallion and certificate.

The full list of recipients named to the Phi Theta Kappa All-Indiana Community College academic team include:

  • Carson Adams (Marion), Transfer
  • Young Laney Beauchamp (Lawrence), Transfer
  • Kristi Brenner (Kokomo), Transfer
  • Alexis Carr (Logansport), Workforce
  • Lorena Ceballos (Fort Wayne), Transfer
  • Kathryn Clouse (Columbus), Transfer
  • Christine Crowder (Terre Haute), Transfer
  • Lilian Davis (Greencastle), Transfer
  • Carlie Deardorff (Logansport), Transfer
  • Meadow Drollinger (Sellersburg), Transfer
  • Rachel Dutoi (South Bend), Workforce
  • Baily Fair (Lafayette), Transfer
  • Owen Freese-Posthuma (Bloomington), Workforce
  • Amber Games (North Meridian), Transfer
  • Billy Gillman (Warsaw), Transfer
  • Courtney Gould (Hamilton County), Transfer
  • Emerald Greene (Southwest), Transfer
  • Kala Guillaume (Lawrence), Transfer
  • Rabia Haider (North Meridian), Transfer
  • Kevin Hendryx (Sellersburg), Transfer
  • Chadwick Hook (Fort Wayne), Transfer
  • Dustin Judd (Terre Haute), Transfer
  • Okem Kalu (Lafayette), Transfer
  • Jennifer Knight (Southwest), Workforce
  • Taylor Lane (Hamilton County), Transfer
  • Mackenzie Melvin (Bloomington), Transfer
  • Cassidy Molnar (Lawrenceburg), Transfer
  • James Montgomery (Kokomo), Transfer
  • Heather Mowery (Terre Haute), Workforce
  • Dieudonne Niyonsaba (South Bend), Workforce
  • Dale Rae Oppel (Lawrence), Workforce
  • Gulab Parab (Bloomington), Transfer
  • Ellen Patterson (Warsaw), Transfer
  • Symphony Plascencia-Garcia (Valparaiso), Transfer
  • Christina Shebel (Valparaiso), Transfer
  • Carrie Sherer (Logansport), Transfer
  • Brennen Sinclair (Muncie), Transfer
  • Logan Taylor (Greencastle), Transfer
  • Ligia Thornton (Madison), Transfer
  • Emily Von Fange (Columbus), Transfer
  • Anjanette Wallace (Logansport), Workforce
  • Hilary Wiseman (Madison), Transfer

About Phi Theta Kappa

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of community college students to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3.2 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in ten nations.

About Ivy Tech Community College

Ivy Tech Community College serves communities across Indiana, providing world-class education and driving economic transformation. It is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering high-value degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its communities, along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s