Ivy Tech Community College celebrates May 2017 graduates

INDIANAPOLIS – Ivy Tech Community College will recognize this year’s graduating class with commencements across Indiana taking place May 6 to May 20. It is estimated that 19,385 credentials will be awarded at ceremonies throughout the state.

“Commencement is about celebrating student success, and honoring the accomplishments of the state’s most diverse student body in the communities they live and work,” said Sue Ellspermann, Ivy Tech President.  “Our graduates support, enhance and breathe life into the Hoosier economy and we are proud to see how their credential propels them into a high demand career in the workforce or helps them seamlessly continue their journey to a four-year institution on the way to their career.”

In addition to honoring the graduates, Ivy Tech will be awarding honorary degrees to eighteen recipients, all whom have played significant roles in their communities and in their contributions to Ivy Tech.

This year’s ceremonies include:

May 6 at 10 a.m., Indiana Farmers Coliseum, Indianapolis region. Featured speaker is Ivy Tech President, Sue Ellspermann. Honorary degree recipients are Byron Myers and Peggy Myers.

May 7 at 2 p.m., Elliott Hall of Music – Purdue University, Lafayette region. Featured speaker is Eric Matteson from GE Aviation. Honorary degree recipients are Patricia Lynn Corey and James A Gothard.

May 11 at 7 p.m., Hulman Center, Wabash Valley region. Featured speaker is Billie Hodges from Duke Energy. Honorary degree recipients are William J. Brett and Judith L. Brett.

May 11 at 6 p.m., Notre Dame, North Central region. Featured speaker will be a student. Honorary degree recipients are Daniel Tyree and Gregg Fore.

May 12 at 7 p.m. (CT), Ford Center, Evansville Region. Featured speaker is Senator Joe Donnelly. Honorary degree recipient is Glen Muehlbauer.

May 12 at 7 p.m., Allen County War Memorial Coliseum, Fort Wayne region. Featured speaker is a student. Honorary degree recipient is Donna J. Kessler.

May 12 at 6:30 p.m., Kokomo Event and Convention Center, Kokomo region. Featured speaker is Allison Barber, Chancellor for Western Governors University. Honorary degree recipient is John William Adler.

May 12 at 6 p.m., Indiana University Auditorium, Bloomington region. Featured speaker is 2017 Nursing Graduate Bridget Badder.

May 13 at 10 a.m., Columbus North High School, Columbus region. Featured speaker will be a student. Honorary degree recipient is Dr. Terry Sargent.

May 13 at 11 a.m. (CT), Michigan City High School, Northwest region. Honorary degree recipient is E Ric Frataccia.

May 13 at 1:30 p.m., Tiernan Center at Richmond High School, Richmond region. Honorary degree recipient is James L. Steck.

May 13 at 4 p.m., Lawrenceburg High School, Lawrenceburg region. Featured speaker and honorary degree recipient is Chip Perfect, Asst. Majority Caucus Chair, State Senator, District 43.

May 16 at 6 p.m., Northside Christian Church, Sellersburg region. Featured speaker is a student. Honorary degree recipient is Dr. Joseph E Wayne.

May 18 at 1:30 p.m. and 7 p.m., Emens Auditorium at Ball State University, East Central region. Health Sciences and Nursing Ceremony to be held at 1:30 p.m. Honorary degree recipient is Dean Hahn.

May 20 at 2 p.m., Hanover College, Hanover, Southeast region. Featured speaker and honorary degree recipient is Carol Dozier.

About Ivy Tech Community College

Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs, certificates and training that are aligned with the needs of employers along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s