Ivy Tech Community College recognizes Alumni Achievement Award recipients

INDIANAPOLIS — Ivy Tech Community College recognized 14 honorees with its annual Alumni Achievement Award at a ceremony August 3.

Since 1998, the Alumni Achievement Award has recognized graduates with outstanding professional or personal achievements since completing their education. The Award is designated for individuals who have made a positive contribution to the community or Ivy Tech through leadership and/or volunteering.

“We have hundreds of thousands of alumni who are contributing to their community, to the state of Indiana and beyond,” said Sue Ellspermann, President of Ivy Tech Community College. “Our success at Ivy Tech is defined by our students and their amazing stories.”

The following alumni received the Alumni Achievement Award:

Candice Silvas (Northwest region) – Silvas serves as the community service coordinator for Salvation Army. She is president of the Parent Group Knapp Elementary School, a member of the National Association of Professional Women and an executive board member and social media coordinator for the League of Women Voters. Silvas also serves as 2nd Ward City Council Representative for Michigan City.

Trisha Balderas (North Central region) – Balderas is the owner/operator of Simply Delish by Trish, where she creates custom cakes, cookies and pastries for special occasions. She is a veteran of the United States Marine Corps. Balderas served as an adjunct faculty member for Ivy Tech’s Pastry Arts program and is currently pursuing a bachelor’s degree in small business and entrepreneurial management.

Colin Zimmer (Northeast region) – Zimmer is an automotive technician for Tesla Motors. He received an award from the American Technical Education Association for Outstanding Technology Program in 2015. Previously, he has been awarded the Northside High School Smutz Industrial Technology Award and the Imagine America Scholarship for Technical/Vocational Studies.

Jody Hamilton (Lafayette region) – Hamilton is the vice president of economic development for the Greater Lafayette Chamber of Commerce. She also serves as chair of the board of directors for Indiana Economic Association, president of the board of directors for YWCA Greater Lafayette and chair for the Indiana Technology Corridor.

Karen McCoy (Kokomo region) – McCoy is manager for alliance and chamber operations for the Greater Kokomo Chamber of Commerce. After graduating from Ivy Tech, McCoy earned her bachelor’s degree in Business Management from Indiana Wesleyan University.

Jeff Crabtree (East Central region) – Crabtree is agri-businessman and real estate developer. He is also a deacon at St. Lawrence Church and a leader at St. Lawrence School and the Harvest Soup Kitchen.

Justin McKain (Wabash Valley region) – McKain is a precision farming specialist for Bane-Welker Equipment. He previously served as an adjunct faculty member and guest speaker for the Agriculture program at Ivy Tech, coached the Ivy Tech Soils Judging team and assisted in the launch of the Ivy Tech Ag Expo and Spartan Match for local high school students.

Delorus “Dee” Alderman (Central Indiana region) – Alderman is a tutor for the TRIO Student Support Services program at Ivy Tech. During her time as a student at Ivy Tech, she was on the Dean’s List for eight semesters and was a member of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society and Indiana Association for Developmental Education.

Jessica Satterfield (Richmond region) – Satterfield is human resource coordinator for Boar’s Head. She also volunteers for Hagerstown Scouts and 4-H. Satterfield is a board member for East Central Indiana Human Resources Association and a member of the Society for Human Resources Management.

Debbie Marie Beaver-Helton (Columbus region) – Beaver-Helton is a registered nurse at the Richard L. Roudebush VA Medical Center. She also volunteers at St. Thomas Clinic and serves as a coach and adjunct faculty member for Western Governors University.

Bill Lane, Jr. (Southeast region) – Lane is the network services manager for the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County. He is also president of South Dearborn swimming, board member for the Cincinnati Employees Credit Union, vice president of the board of trustees at South Dearborn School Corporation and a member of the Moores Hill Redevelopment committee.

Keith Miller (Southwest region) – Miller is strategic development director for St. Mary’s Medical Center. He is the author of several continuing educational offerings geared toward EMS and hospital personnel and has developed the AHA Mission Lifeline program for St. Mary’s Health System. Miller is also a board member of the Indiana Association of Air Medical Services.

Kyle Hobson (Southern Indiana region) – Hobson is the manager of respiratory care for the Kentuckiana Medical Center. He remains involved at Ivy Tech as a member of the academic advisory board for the Respiratory Care program and a member of the organization committee for the Annual Kentuckiana Symposium at Ivy Tech.  Hobson is also a member of American Association for Respiratory Care and the National Board for Respiratory Care.

Jason Dixon (Bloomington region) – Dixon is the vice president of operations for the Seattle Cancer Care Alliance Proton Therapy Center. He previously served as an adjunct faculty member for Ivy Tech in the Proton Therapy Specialist certificate program. Dixon is an editorial review board member for Radiation Therapy Journal and a reviewing member for the International Journal of Particle Therapy Journal.

You can find more information at www.ivytech.edu/alumniawards.

Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system.  Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s