Ivy Tech Community College celebrates May 2016 graduates

INDIANAPOLIS – Ivy Tech Community College will recognize this year’s graduating class at 14 different sites across Indiana. The Community College estimates that nearly 20,320 credentials will be awarded at commencement ceremonies throughout the state taking place from May 5 to May 14.

“This is a wonderful time of the year at Ivy Tech as we celebrate the hard work of all of the students graduating this month,” said Thomas J. Snyder, President of Ivy Tech.  “Our graduates impact nearly every industry in the state, bringing with them valuable skills and enhancing our state’s economy.  As Indiana’s community college, we continue to be inspired by the opportunity to help many other Hoosier students change their own lives while having a similar influence on the state of Indiana.”

In addition to earning credentials, Ivy Tech students have earned thousands of credits to transfer to four-year institutions throughout the state, saving those students more than $38 million dollars in tuition costs.

The college will also present honorary degrees to 25 individuals this year.  The recipients have played significant roles in their communities and in their contributions to Ivy Tech.  Each of this year’s honorary degree recipients will receive an Associate of Science in College and Community Service in recognition of their commitment to education and Ivy Tech Community College.

This year’s ceremonies will be scheduled as follows:

May 5 at 7 p.m., Hulman Center, Terre Haute.  Featured speaker is Lori Danielson.  Honorary degree recipients are Norman Lowery and Sally Lowery.

May 6 at 6 p.m., Joyce Center at the University of Notre Dame, South Bend.  Featured speaker is Sarah Lewis.  Honorary degree recipient is Larry Garatoni.

May 6 at 7 p.m. (CST), Ford Center, Evansville.  Featured speaker is Leah Curry.  Honorary degree recipients are Timothy A. Flesch and Robert L. Wathen II.

May 6 at 7 p.m., Allen County War Memorial Coliseum, Fort Wayne. Featured speakers are Kevin Wall and Ivy Tech graduate Elizabeth Powers. Honorary degree recipients are Senator Dennis Kruse and Tim Borne.

May 7 at 10 a.m., Columbus North High School Gym, Columbus. Featured speaker is student Erin Rochwell.  Honorary degree recipient is Gary A. Meyer.

May 7 at 10 a.m., Kokomo Event and Conference Center, Kokomo.  Featured speaker is student Brandi McCann. Honorary degree recipient is Jean Neel.

May 7 at 11 a.m. (CST), Michigan City High School Auditorium, Michigan City.  Featured speaker is Stephen D. Garner.  Honorary degree recipients include Stewart McMillan and Dr. David Merrill.

May 7 at 1 p.m., Indiana Farmers Coliseum, Indianapolis.  Featured speaker is Ivy Tech President Thomas J. Snyder. Honorary degree recipients include J. Albert Smith, Jr., Maribeth Smith, Ural Smith, Jr., and David L. Johnson.

May 7 at 1:30 p.m., Tiernan Center at Richmond High School, Richmond.  Honorary degree recipient is David Stidham.

May 7 at 4 p.m., Lawrenceburg High School Gym, Lawrenceburg.  Featured speaker is Karl Galey.  Honorary degree recipients are Karl Galey and Roger Howard.

May 8 at 2 p.m., Elliott Hall at Purdue University, West Lafayette.  Featured speaker is Chief Justice Loretta Rush.  Honorary degree recipient is Chief Justice Loretta Rush.

May 10 at 6 p.m., Northside Christian Church, New Albany. Featured speaker is Bob Carr.  Honorary degree recipient is Bridgett Strickler.

May 12 at 7 p.m., Ball State University, Muncie. Honorary degree recipients include Bobbette Snyder and James Warner.

May 13 at 6 p.m., Indiana University Auditorium, Bloomington.  Featured speaker is graduate Ivy Tosti.  Honorary degree recipient is Joan LeBien Olcott.

May 14 at 2 p.m., Hanover College Horner Center, Hanover.  Featured speaker is Teresa Lubbers.  Honorary degree recipients are Teresa Lubbers and Margaret Seifert-Russell.

Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system.  Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s