Ivy Tech Community College presents honors to 28 faculty members

Bloomington professor, Lawrenceburg instructor take top honors

Ivy Tech Community College has selected 14 members of its full-time faculty to receive the annual President’s Award for Excellence in Instruction, as well as 14 adjunct faculty members to receive the annual Adjunct Faculty Award for Excellence in Instruction.

In a tradition that began in 1983, one full-time faculty member is then selected to receive the Glenn W. Sample Award for Excellence in Instruction, the College’s highest honor for faculty. This year’s Glenn W. Sample Award for Excellence in Instruction was granted to Sarah Cote, Associate Professor of Biotechnology in the Bloomington region.  Cote joined Ivy Tech in 2003, and teaches in Life Sciences and Biotechnology.

For the last six years, the Adjunct Faculty Award for Excellence in Instruction has been presented annually to an adjunct faculty member from each of the 14 regions of the College. The Gerald I. Lamkin Award (named after a former President of Ivy Tech) recognizes adjunct faculty who exhibit excellence in instruction and represent the mission of Ivy Tech.  Larry McLean, adjunct faculty member from the Southeast region, received this year’s Gerald I. Lamkin Award for Excellence in Instruction. Larry joined Ivy Tech in 2013, and teaches Life and Physical science courses.

“I frequently hear from our students that the professors at Ivy Tech are incredibly supportive, dedicated and caring.  I believe the commitment our instructors show has the power to change lives and help students succeed in the classroom,” said Ivy Tech President Thomas J. Snyder.  “We are excited to recognize some of the most talented instructors you will find for all they do for our students each and every day.”

The 2016 President’s Awards recipients and their campuses are:

Northwest Region – John H “Jack” Schoenfelder; Professor of Business Administration Department Chair, Business & Logistics, Interim Campus President

North Central Region – Joseph W. Frentzel; Assistant Professor of Biology & Chemistry, Elkhart County Campus Natural Science Program Chair

Northeast Region – Christine E. Barlow; Associate Professor of Life Science

Lafayette Region – Colin T. William; Professor of Psychology

Kokomo Region – Lisa Price; Assistant Professor of Nursing

East Central Region – Gary Grider; Program Chair of HVAC

Wabash Valley Region – Darla K. Crist; Assistant Professor of English/Writing Center Director

Central Indiana Region– Charity Bowling; Program Chair Respiratory Care/Neurodiagnostics

Richmond Region – Jenna Hampton; Assistant Professor of Business and Accounting

Columbus Region – Mark Buss; Math instructor

Southeast Region – Amanda Harsin; Association Professor of Communication, Social & Behavior Science Program Chair, Humanities Program Chair, Foreign Language Program Chair

Southwest Region – Daniel J. Dickman; Associate Professor of Psychology

Southern Indiana Region – Christina Pennington; Assistant Professor of Nursing, SIM Lab Coordinator

Bloomington Region – Sarah Cote; Associate Professor of Biotechnology

The following individuals received the 2016 Adjunct Faculty Award for Excellence in Instruction:

Northwest Region – Andrew Mason, Business Administration Instructor

North Central Region – Mark Stamper, Business Administration Instructor

Northeast Region – Nicole (Nikki) Kyle, Respiratory Care Instructor

Lafayette Region – Lisa Stillman, Life Sciences Instructor

Kokomo Region– Michael Dunivan, Hospitality Instructor

East Central Region– Annette Johnson, Fine Arts Instructor

Wabash Valley Region– Kimberly Crooks, Mathematics Instructor

Central Indiana Region – Chris Tower, Fine Arts Instructor

Richmond Region – Katrina Norris, Human Services Instructor

Columbus Region– Eileen Robertson, Mathematics Instructor

Southeast Region – Larry McLean, Life Sciences Instructor

Southwest Region – Vickie Kane, Human Services Instructor

Southern Indiana Region – Kevin Hawkins, Computer Science Instructor

Bloomington Region – Deborah Anderson, Education Instructor

Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system.  Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s