Ivy Tech Community College recognizes Alumni Achievement Award recipients

INDIANAPOLIS — Ivy Tech Community College has recognized 14 honorees with its annual Alumni Achievement Award.

Since 1998, the Alumni Achievement Award has recognized graduates with outstanding professional or personal achievements since completing their education. The Award is designated for individuals who have made a positive contribution to the community or Ivy Tech through leadership and/or volunteering.

The Alumni Professional Achievement Award was presented to Michael Rusher of the Northeast region. Beth Charles of the Wabash Valley region received the Personal Achievement Award.

The following alumni received the Alumni Achievement Award:

Deborah Good (Northwest region) – Deborah Good is the co-owner and CEO of Good Medical Management. After graduating from Ivy Tech, she went on to earn a bachelor’s degree in nursing from Purdue University. She has been involved with the Indiana Medical Group Management Association and the Healthcare Billing Management Association. She is also a member of Rotary International.

Joshua Paul Amador (North Central region) – Joshua Paul Amador is Sous Chef at the Hilton Garden Inn in South Bend. He is dual certified in culinary arts and pastry arts and is a member of the American Culinary Federation. He is involved with the Junior League Chefs Showcase.

Michael Rusher (Northeast region) – Michael Rusher is a registered respiratory therapist with Parkview Health. He invented the Rusher Valve for respiratory patients. He is a member of the American Association of Respiratory Care and has been awarded the Melvin Curtis Outstanding Student award.

Karen Demerly (Lafayette region) – Karen Demerly is a programmer/analyst/HER admin with Wabash Valley Alliance. In her community, she is involved with Public Schools Foundation of Tippecanoe County, City of Lafayette Commission on Hispanic Affairs, and is a volunteer webmaster and Facebook administrator for Lafayette Jefferson High School choirs.

Greg Aaron (Kokomo region) – Greg Aaron serves as the executive director of the Ivy Tech Event and Conference Center in Kokomo. He is a founding member of the Very Early Childhood Education Center and serves as a board member of the Mayor’s Advisory Council. He also is active with the Greater Kokomo Economic Development Alliance.

Cindy Cash (East Central region) – Cindy Cash is an instructional designer at Ball State University. She serves as secretary of the Shafer Leadership Academy and is also active with the Society for Information Technology and Teacher Education. She has been an adjunct faculty member at Ivy Tech since 1999.

Beth Charles (Wabash Valley region) – Beth Charles is co-founder of Mountain Top Ministries in Haiti. She received the John K. Lamb Award for Community Service and is a board member and volunteer at Quisqueya Christian School in Haiti. She holds a pastoral license with the Church of God.

Ernest Malone (Central Indiana region) – Ernest Malone is fire chief at the Indianapolis Fire Department. He is a graduate of the National Fire Academy and an Executive Fire Officer. He was named Chief Fire Officer through Center for Public Safety, the first at IFD to hold that distinction.

Vanessa Mason (Richmond region) – Vanessa Mason is director of clinical studies at Forest Park Health Campus. She is recipient of the Medique Nursing Leadership Award and is a member of NAACP. She also is president of Health Awarenss Team Ministry.

Delaram Moghaddam (Columbus region) – Delaram Moghaddam is sales manager and interior designer for Scandinavian Imports Furniture Gallery. She is active with American Society of Interior Designers, serving as social media chair. She also is a member of Southside Art League, serving as secretary. She is a recipient of the Outstanding Graduate Award from Ivy Tech and IUPUI.

Steven Sassaman (Southeast region) – Steven Sassaman is materials standards supervisor for Proximo Distillers. He is active with Special Olympics and has been named Coach of the Year by Indiana Area 9 and Indiana Ripley Ohio Dearborn. He also is a member of Lawrenceburg Elks, serving as lodge secretary and chairman of scholarships.

Nick Barton (Southwest region) – Nick Barton is owner of Barton Automotive Services. He is a chapter member of Automotive Service Association and also a member of International Automotive Technicians Network and Dealer Council for Jasper Engine and Transmission.

Mendy Goonan (Southern Indiana region) – Mendy Goonan is manager of patient experience at Norton Healthcare. She is a member of Beta Gamma Sigma and Golden Key International Honor Society. She is HDI certified.

Stephanie Hamilton (Bloomington region) – Stephanie Hamilton is a behavior consultant with CRF First Choice, Inc. She volunteers at Backstreet Mission and is a member of Indiana Association of Behavioral Consultants.

Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s