Ivy Tech students named to All-Indiana Academic Team

INDIANAPOLIS –Thirty-three students from Ivy Tech Community College campuses across the state were named to this year’s All-Indiana Academic Team for Community and Junior Colleges.  The academic competition, which scores students on academic honors, activities including leadership and work experience, and an essay, is sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society for two-year colleges, USA TODAY, and the American Association of Community Colleges.

Phi Theta Kappa developed the All-State Academic Team program in 1994 as a component of the All-USA Team for Community and Junior Colleges Competition.  The All-Indiana Academic Team was first recognized in 1995.

Jacob Hornung-Betz, a student at Ivy Tech’s Sellersburg campus, was the highest scoring applicant and was named the New Century Scholar.  He will receive a $2,000 scholarship from the Coca-Cola Foundation and the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. Hornung-Betz, a general studies student, is a member of Phi Theta Kappa and a volunteer with Habitat for Humanity.  His career goal is to become a computational neuroscience researcher.

In addition to the New Century Scholar, OneAmerica also awards scholarships to the highest scoring All-USA applicants in Indiana who are not New Century Scholars. Sarah Tatnall, a student at Ivy Tech’s Indianapolis campus, and Pasqual Yung, a student at Ivy Tech’s Lawrenceburg campus, were named the 2015 OneAmerica Scholars.  Each student will receive a $750 scholarship.  Tatnall is a liberal arts student and plans to pursue a career in agriculture or design.  Yung is also a liberal arts student who plans to pursue a career as an art therapist.

The following additional Ivy Tech students represented the All-Indiana Academic Team:

Jami Atkins, Ivy Tech Sellersburg
Donald Brewer, Ivy Tech Bloomington
Christopher Brown, Ivy Tech Columbus
Ashley Brown, Ivy Tech Southwest
Kelci Carlson, Ivy Tech Lafayette
Sean Coffey, Ivy Tech Kokomo
Nathan Corey, Ivy Tech Northwest (Valparaiso)
Emily Ann Deaner, Ivy Tech Northwest (Michigan City)
John Enoch, Ivy Tech North Central (Warsaw)
Charlene Fiske, Ivy Tech North Central (Warsaw)
Norma Gamez, Ivy Tech Northest (East Chicago)
Jaime Heineman, Ivy Tech Kokomo (Logansport)
Nathan Hodge, Ivy Tech Lafayette
Emily Jahoda, Ivy Tech Northwest (Michigan City)
Sara Elizabeth Kuster, Ivy Tech Richmond
Scott Libeert, Ivy Tech Southeast (Lawrenceburg)
Jennifer Linder-Miller, Ivy Tech Wabash Valley
Amanda L. Long, Ivy Tech Wabash Valley
Debbie J. Mitchell, Ivy Tech Columbus
Janett Parker, Ivy Tech Northwest (East Chicago)
Elizabeth Politano, Ivy Tech Southwest
Sheri Purvis, Ivy Tech Southeast (Madison)
Jacob Reed, Ivy Tech Northwest (Valparaiso)
Emily Roberts, Ivy Tech Southeast (Madison)
Josette Robinson, Ivy Tech Central Indiana
Tiffany Rogers, Ivy Tech Northwest (Gary)
Madona Smyser, Ivy Tech Kokomo
Regina Vanmeter, Ivy Tech Bloomington
Barbara Wareham, Ivy Tech Richmond
Cathi Woodard, Ivy Tech Kokomo (Logansport)

Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society for students of two-year colleges. With more than 1.3 million members, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education.  Students must complete at least twelve hours of course work towards an associate degree and generally have at least a 3.5 grade point average to be considered.

Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system serving nearly 200,000 students annually. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s