Eleven Ivy Tech Community College Employees Named to Indiana Regional Works Councils

INDIANAPOLIS—Eleven Ivy Tech Community College employees have been appointed to the Indiana Regional Works Councils by Governor Mike Pence.

The 11 Indiana Regional Works Councils were created to bring together educators and employers to assess and improve career and technical education in each of eleven different regions across the state. On November 1, each council must submit a comprehensive evaluation of the available career, technical and vocational education opportunities for high school students in its region to the Governor and the Education Roundtable.

The eleven Ivy Tech employees who were appointed (one to each of the 11 works councils) are:

Joe Arredondo, Northwest Director of K-12 Initiatives
Sarah Rice, North Central Early College Coordinator
Dawn BonAmi, Northeast Secondary Programs Coordinator
David Bouck, Lafayette Director of Secondary Initiatives
John Newby, Assistant Vice President of K-12 Initiatives
Bonnie Willy, East Central Director of K-12 Initiatives
Lea Anne Crooks, Wabash Valley Executive Director of Corporate College
Tom Kinzer, Bloomington Life Skills Instructor
Sue Smith, Executive Director of Corporate College and Corporate Executive for Manufacturing Technology
Joe Wayne, Southern Region Director of K-12 Initiatives
Mary Ann Sellars, Southwest Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs.

These Ivy Tech employees, along with other educators and representatives from Indiana companies such as Caterpillar, Chrysler, Cummins, Cook Pharmica and Subaru, will evaluate and complete the analysis to submit to the Governor.

Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system serving nearly 200,000 students annually. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s