Ivy Tech students named to All-Indiana Academic Team

INDIANAPOLIS –Thirty-seven students from Ivy Tech Community College campuses across the state were named to this year’s All-Indiana Academic Team.  The academic competition which scores students on academic honors, activities including leadership and work experience, and an essay, is sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society for two-year colleges, USA TODAY, and the American Association of Community Colleges.

Phi Theta Kappa developed the All-Indiana Academic Team competition in 1994 as a component of the All-USA Team Competition.

Jason Stover, a student at Ivy Tech’s East Central region, was the highest scoring applicant and was named the New Century Scholar.  He will receive a $2,000 scholarship from the Coca-Cola Foundation and the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. Stover, a liberal arts/communications student, is a member of Phi Theta Kappa, Student Government Association, and is a peer tutor in the Ivy Tech writing center.

For achieving the second highest score in the All-American competition, William Becht will receive a $1,500 scholarship from OneAmerica. Becht is a design technology student at Ivy Tech’s Southern Indiana region.  He is a member of Phi Theta Kappa and serves as a math tutor.

The ceremony also recognized the following Ivy Tech students from the All-Indiana Academic Team:

Jason Arndt, Ivy Tech Northwest
Sylvia Babcock, Ivy Tech Columbus/Franklin
Lori Batchelor, Ivy Tech Wabash Valley
Gabriel Borisuk, Ivy Tech Southeast
Cynthia Branson, Ivy Tech East Central
Tina Brashear, Ivy Tech East Central
Drew Canavan, Ivy Tech Wabash Valley
Jennifer Douglas, Ivy Tech Lafayette
Audrey Ogochukwu Esotu, Ivy Tech Northeast
Mary Francis, Ivy Tech North Central
Maureen Girdler, Ivy Tech Southeast
Andriya Hardy, Ivy Tech Bloomington
Elizabeth Hestermann, Ivy Tech Northwest
Racheal Hill, Ivy Tech Columbus/Franklin
Shannon Kegarise, Ivy Tech Kokomo
Amber Leavell, Ivy Tech North Central
Kari Lemons, Ivy Tech Southeast
Cheryl Livengood, Ivy Tech Northwest
LouAnn Manning, Ivy Tech Ricmond
Mary McCutchan, Ivy Tech Southwest
Marci McKinney, Ivy Tech Kokomo
Cory Mote, Ivy Tech Kokomo
Brittany Nicholson, Ivy Tech Central Indiana
Ryan Palmore, Ivy Tech Central Indiana
Michele Peters, Ivy Tech Northwest
Kathy Rutan-Henry, Ivy Tech Northwest
Roberta Selleck, Ivy Tech Kokomo
Derrick Shipley, Ivy Tech Wabash Valley
Jenise Smith, Ivy Tech Northwest
Cory Stephens, Ivy Tech Southeast
Matthew Stewart, Ivy Tech Richmond
William VanHorn, Ivy Tech Bloomington
Sally Wakeland, Ivy Tech Lafayette
Christopher Wilson, Ivy Tech Northwest
Brenda Wingham, Ivy Tech Southern Indiana

Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society for students of two-year colleges. With more than 1.3 million members, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education.  Students must complete at least twelve hours of course work towards an associate degree and generally have at least a 3.5 grade point average to be considered.

Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system serving nearly 200,000 students annually. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s