Ivy Tech Community College State Trustees Name New Officers Anne Shane Named Chair

INDIANAPOLIS – The Ivy Tech Community College State Board of Trustees has named its new officers for 2011-12.

Anne Shane has been named chair of the board.  Shane (Indianapolis), who was first appointed to the board in 2007, is currently serving as a Division Chair for the 2012 Super Bowl, supervising special events and volunteers.

In addition, she is on the Steering Committee for the Mayoral Archive Project and the University of Indianapolis, as well as co-chairing the campaign to raise funds for the Indiana University School of Medicine’s program in Eldoret, Kenya.  Shane formerly served as the Vice President at both The Mind Trust, an organization focused on K-12 education reform, and at BioCrossroads, where she helped start up Indiana’s leading initiative to grow the life sciences sector through workforce development, scientific collaborations and new business formation.  She has also served as Chief of Staff under former-Indianapolis Mayor Stephen Goldsmith and managed many of his political campaigns.

“The Ivy Tech State Board of Trustees will continue to change lives and make Indiana great by focusing on completion rates, transfer, and affordability for Ivy Tech’s 200,000 students,” said Shane.  “In addition, we have pledged to continue operating as efficiently as possible while managing Ivy Tech’s continued high growth rate and maintaining the quality of the College’s instructional offerings for a highly diverse student body.”

Shane replaces former chairman Lee J. Marchant (Bloomington), who continues to serve on the board.  Other officer announcements include V. Bruce Walkup as vice chair and Steve Schreckengast as secretary.

Walkup (Sullivan) serves as the Regional President for First Financial Bank.  He was appointed to the board for a second time in 2005 and reappointed in 2008.  His first appointment came in 2001 and he served on the board for two years until 2003.

Schreckengast (Lafayette) is President of Citation Homes.  He was appointed to the board in 2007.

Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public post-secondary institution and the nation’s largest singly-accredited statewide community college system with more than 200,000 students enrolled annually. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana.  It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s