Ivy Tech-Columbus chapter of Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society named a Five Star Chapter

COLUMBUS – The Alpha Rho Tau chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society at Ivy Tech Community College-Columbus was named a Five Star Chapter during the Indiana Regional Convention, held in April.  In order to achieve the Five Star rating, a chapter must have enhanced its strategies to recognize eligible students, provided significant personal and professional development opportunities for members, and built a working relationship with the college administration by becoming active on campus and in the community.

Phi Theta Kappa is the only nationally acclaimed honor society serving two-year colleges offering associate degree programs.  Founded in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa currently operates with 1,250 chapters in the United States and abroad.  Membership is extended by invitation only.  To be considered, a student must be enrolled in a regionally accredited institution offering an associate degree, have accumulated the number of hours used by that college to designate full-time status, have completed at least 12 hours of course work in courses leading to an associate degree, have established a grade point average of 3.5 on a 4.0 point scale, have established a record of academic excellence as judged by the faculty, be of good moral character, and possess recognized qualities of citizenship.

“We are pleased with the recognition received by the Ivy Tech-Columbus chapter of Phi Theta Kappa and proud of its advisors, Rebecca Allen, Maribeth Anderson, and Joanna Nedeau-Kilby,” commented Ivy Tech Chancellor John Hogan.  “We are also proud of the students who earn the honor of being invited to become members.”   

About Ivy Tech Community College
Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution; it has 23 campuses within 14 regions throughout the State of Indiana and serves nearly 200,000 students annually.  The Ivy Tech-Columbus Region includes the six counties of Bartholomew, Brown, Decatur, Jackson, Jennings, and the southern portion of Johnson.  More than 6,700 students are enrolled in its 23 academic programs within the Schools of Business, Education, Fine Arts & Design, Technology, Liberal Arts, Health Sciences, Public & Social Services, and Nursing.  The Department of Workforce & Economic Development, which works in partnership with business and industry, serves over 1,500 students annually.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s