Ivy Tech-Columbus/Franklin adding courses at Franklin campus

COLUMBUS – The Franklin campus of Ivy Tech-Columbus is offering more courses than ever before in order to accommodate demand.  Although the utilization of the campus is very high, an effort was made to fill every spot available in the building so that more classes could be added.  Twenty-three courses have been added to the 144 that were already scheduled for the Franklin campus.

The enrollment at the Franklin campus has more than doubled in the last several years.  In 2008, it was 1029; this past fall, it grew to 2617.  Three complete degree programs are now offered in Franklin:  business, education, and liberal arts.  Future degree programs being considered for the Franklin campus are early childhood education, computer information systems, computer information technology, and criminal justice.

About Ivy Tech Community College
Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution; it has 23 campuses within 14 regions throughout the State of Indiana and serves nearly 200,000 students annually.  The Ivy Tech-Columbus Region includes the six counties of Bartholomew, Brown, Decatur, Jackson, Jennings, and the southern portion of Johnson.  More than 6,700 students are enrolled in its 23 academic programs within the Schools of Business, Education, Fine Arts & Design, Technology, Liberal Arts, Health Sciences, Public & Social Services, and Nursing.  The Department of Workforce & Economic Development, which works in partnership with business and industry, serves over 1,500 students annually.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s