Ivy Tech Community College honors top faculty

INDIANAPOLIS – IvyTechCommunity Collegehas selected 14 members of its faculty to receive the annual President’s Award for Excellence in Instruction.

In a tradition that began in 1983, one faculty member from each of the College’s 14 regions is chosen to receive the President’s Award.  From the 14 recipients, one is then selected to receive the Glenn W. Sample Award for Excellence in Instruction, the College’s highest honor for faculty. The 2011 Sample Award will be presented June 23.

“With rising enrollments and strains on classroom and work space, these faculty members have gone above and beyond to serve our students,” said Ivy Tech President Thomas J. Snyder.  “Our faculty members change lives, and we are so very appreciative of their commitment and drive to ensure our students succeed.”

The 2011 President’s Awards recipients and their campuses are:

Bloomington: Martin Wolfger, Associate Professor of Psychology, Dean of the School of Liberal Arts & Sciences
Columbus: Brenda Ragle, Associate Professor of Early Childhood Education
Evansville: Kathryn Starnes-Kiely, Instructor of Medical Assisting
Fort Wayne: Abdalla Hazaimeh, Program Chair of Math and Physical Sciences
Indianapolis: Thom England, Associate Professor of Hospitality Administration
Kokomo: John Chalfin, Assistant Professor and Program Chair of Paramedic Science
Lafayette/Monticello: Amy Kauffman, Associate Professor of Academic Skills Advancement/Mathematics
Madison: Holly Yowler, Professor of Nursing
Muncie: Rob Jeffs, Associate Professor of Academic Skills Advancement/Mathematics
Richmond: Karen Tower, Assistant Professor and Department Chair of Accounting and Business Administration
Sellersburg: April Robinson, Assistant Professor and Program Chair of Mathematics
South Bend: Margaret Eggleston, Assistant Professor of Visual Communications
Terre Haute: Cathy Cole, Assistant Professor and Program Chair of Education
Valparaiso: Gina Rue, Associate Professor of Computer Information Systems and Computer Information Technology

About Ivy Tech Community College
Ivy Tech is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system serving nearly 200,000 students annually. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s