Ivy Tech Foundation and Ivy Tech Community College recognize Benefactors, Alumni of the Year

INDIANAPOLIS – Ivy Tech Foundation will recognize its Benefactors of the Year in three new categories at the annual Ivy Tech Trustees and Directors’ Conference today in French Lick. Two new Alumni of the Year awards also will be awarded.

The Philanthropic Vision Award will be awarded to the Paul Ogle Foundation, Inc.; the Philanthropic Leadership Award will be awarded to Milt and Jean Cole; and the Changing Lives Award will be awarded posthumously to John and Janice Fisher. The recipients are selected from a pool of nominees, by a committee of the Ivy Tech Foundation board.

The Alumni Professional Achievement Award will be awarded to Kathy Boyd of the Southwest region. The Alumni Personal Achievement Award will be awarded to Dorica Young of the East Central region.

The Paul Ogle Foundation, Inc., has been a donor to Ivy Tech Southern Indiana since 1999 when the Foundation gave $500,000 to make the Paul Ogle Virtual Library a reality. In both 2001 and 2002, the Foundation gave $250,000 each year to the college’s scholarship fund. In 2009, the Foundation pledged $1 million to the campus—to be paid over five years—for the Ivy Tech Southern Indiana Campus Expansion Capital Campaign, setting an important standard of status/success.

Since their first gift–a corporate donation from Cole Hardwood in 1988—Milt and Jean Cole have generously and faithfully supported the College. They pledged $1 million to the campaign for the new Ivy Tech facility in Logansport. And for the past three years, the Coles have served admirably as honorary chairpersons for the Kokomo region’s capital campaign. With the Coles’ help, the campaign has been extremely successful, raising more than $6 million to date.

The Changing Lives Award is a posthumous award honoring John W. and Janice B. Fisher of Muncie. The gift of the former Ball Corporation Headquarters building in downtown Muncie is the largest gift of its kind to the Ivy Tech Foundation. The building is being put to use this fall for the first time as home to offices and classes for Ivy Tech’s School of Business. The building is named the Ivy Tech Fisher Campus, in honor of the Fisher family legacy

Kathy Boyd (Ivy Tech – Southwest), recipient of the Professional Achievement alumni award, received her first Ivy Tech degree in graphic design in 1994. She joined the Brotherhood of Electrical Workers journeyman apprenticeship program and has been a journeyman electrician since 1996. She received a second associate degree in 2008 and currently owns Boyd Electric. She took an unpaid leave from her job to oversee renovation of Holly’s House, an advocacy center for victims of sex crimes and domestic violence. For her work, she represented Evansville as the Jefferson Award candidate for the Jacqueline Onassis Award for Outstanding Community Service.

Dorica Young (Ivy Tech – East Central), recipient of the Personal Achievement alumni award, graduated Ivy Tech in 2006 with an associate degree in human services. She enrolled at Ivy Tech 10 years after high school while continuing to work fulltime. She received a bachelor’s degree from Ball State University in 2008. She currently serves as community coordinator and coach for TEAMWork for Quality Living. She also is a case manager for families who are highly motivated to become self-sufficient. This past March, she gave back to Ivy Tech as a speaker at the East Central region ‘s TRIO Day celebration.

Regional Benefactors of the Year for 2010 are:

Northwest region: Stewart McMillan
North Central region: Memorial Hospital and Health System
Northeast region: Sandra Kemmish, Lincoln Financial Foundation
Central Indiana region: Citizens Energy Group
Southeast region: Dearborn County Hospital
Southwest region: Robert L. Koch II
Bloomington region: ProCure Treatment Centers, Inc.
Wabash Valley region: First Financial Bank

Regional Distinguished Alumni of the Year for 2010 are:

Columbus: Ken Bucklew
Fort Wayne: Beth Scholer
Richmond: Eric Fields
Madison: Jaclyn Gross
Lafayette: Tony L. Burns
Bloomington: Jason King
Sellersburg: Randy Black
Kokomo: Eric Ryder
Indianapolis: Brendan Hartnett

Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public postsecondary institution and the nation’s largest singly accredited statewide community college system serving nearly 200,000 students annually. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s