Ivy Tech students named to All-Indiana Academic Team

Team sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa, USA Today and the American Association of Community Colleges

INDIANAPOLIS –Twenty-seven students from Ivy Tech Community College campuses across the state were among the 29 students named to the All-Indiana Academic Team. The academic competition which scores students on academic honors, activities including leadership and work experience, and an essay, is sponsored by Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society for two-year colleges, USA TODAY, and the American Association of Community Colleges.

Phi Theta Kappa developed the All-Indiana Academic Team competition in 1994 as a component of the All-USA Team Competition. The top contestants are named to the First Team and runners up to the second and third teams.

All members of the First Team were Ivy Tech students, including Jason Chaplin of Ivy Tech Community College – Indianapolis, who was named the New Century Scholar and will receive a $2,000 scholarship from the Coca-Cola Foundation and the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. Chaplin, who was also the highest scoring applicant, was also invited to attend the annual American Association of Community Colleges convention held earlier this year in Seattle, WA.

Chaplin, a nursing student, holds a 4.0 grade point average and volunteers for the Peace Learning Center, American Indian Center of Indiana and the International Center of Indianapolis. Chaplin plans to pursue a bachelor’s degree and a career as a nurse practitioner. He is active in Phi Theta Kappa, the Student Nurse Association and member of the Dean’s List.

For achieving the second highest score in the All-American competition, Sherri Dykes will receive a $1,000 scholarship from OneAmerica. Dykes is a medical assisting student at the Lawrenceburg campus of Ivy Tech Community College. She is a member of Phi Theta Kappa and the Dean’s List. Her future plans include pursing a bachelor’s degree.

The ceremony recognized the following Ivy Tech students:

First Team
Jason Chaplin, Indianapolis Campus
Sherri Dykes, Lawrenceburg Campus
Shawn Knapp, Kokomo Campus
Anna Montgomery, Columbus Campus
Toby Strock, Elkhart Campus
Dianne Deitch, Indianapolis Campus
Melissa McVay, Logansport Campus
Cathy Clardy, Gary Campus
Joshua Ohde, Bloomington Campus
Earl Shaner, Jr., Logansport Campus

Second Team
Sherry Woodfill, Madison Campus
Andrea Heine, Terre Haute Campus
Rebecca Selbee, Bloomington Campus
Tuyen Biagi, Valparaiso Campus
Kimberly Condon, Michigan City Campus
Tonya Smith, Kokomo Campus
Rachel Cooper, Lawrenceburg Campus
Gregory Gick, Lafayette Campus
Robin Payne, Terre Haute Campus
Julie Suarez, Fort Wayne Campus

Third Team
Roberta Becht, Columbus Campus
Mary Eaton, Valparaiso Campus
Nitecka Butler, Gary Campus
Donna Lutes, Richmond Campus
Keeli Grooms, East Chicago Campus
Jeffery Scherer, Fort Wayne Campus
Terri Paul, Richmond Campus

Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society for students of two-year colleges. With more than 1.3 million members, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education. Students must complete at least twelve hours of course work towards an associate degree and generally have at least a 3.5 grade point average to be considered.

Ivy Tech Community College is the state’s largest public post-secondary institution and the nation’s largest singly-accredited statewide community college system with more than 150,000 students enrolled annually. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s