Ivy Tech Community College honors top faculty

INDIANAPOLIS – Ivy Tech Community College has selected 14 members of its faculty to receive the annual President’s Award for Excellence in Instruction.

In a tradition that began in 1983, one faculty member from each of the College’s regions is chosen to receive the President’s Award. From the 14 recipients, one is then selected to receive the Glenn W. Sample Award for Excellence in Instruction, the College’s highest honor for faculty. The 2009 Sample Award will be presented in June.

“Each of these individual President’s Award winners has made a continuous, significant impact on not only their students, but their communities,” said Ivy Tech President Thomas J. Snyder. “Literally thousands of citizens have had their lives changed by these phenomenal teachers. We are very proud that our faculty includes individuals who commit their teaching gifts and extensive life experience to their students.”

The 2009 President’s Awards recipients and their campuses are:

  • Bloomington: Annie M. Gray, Associate Professor and Program Chair for the English Program
  • Columbus: Ronald Dougherty, Professor and Assistant Dean for the School of Business
  • East Chicago: Richard A. Soria Jr., Program Chair for Mortuary Science
  • Evansville: Scott H. O’Daniel, Associate Professor of Communication
  • Fort Wayne: Linda K. Romines, Associate Professor for the Medical Assisting Program
  • Indianapolis: Albert S. Rubenstein, Associate Professor of Biology
  • Kokomo: Kyle D. Wiley, Assistant Professor and Program Chair for Visual Communication
  • Lafayette: L. Diann Robinson, Professor of Mathematics and Department Chair for Academic Skills Advancement
  • Madison: Georgia A. Simmons, Assistant Professor of Nursing
  • Muncie: Danna Bishop, Assistant Professor and Program Chair for Office Administration
  • Richmond: Charles D. Gidney, Associate Professor of Communication and Program Chair for the School of Liberal Arts
  • Sellersburg: Susan D. Morganti, Program Chair for Visual Communication
  • South Bend: B. Irene Britt, Assistant Professor and Chair for the Criminal Justice Program
  • Terre Haute: Bryan S. Kirby, Assistant Professor of Communication and Theater

About Ivy Tech Community College
Ivy Tech is the state’s largest public post-secondary institution and one of the nation’s largest singly-accredited statewide community college systems with more than 120,000 students enrolled annually. Ivy Tech has campuses throughout Indiana. It serves as the state’s engine of workforce development, offering affordable degree programs and training that are aligned with the needs of its community along with courses and programs that transfer to other colleges and universities in Indiana. It is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission and a member of the North Central Association.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s